Sugar skulls…my passion

I love skulls, especially mexican skulls. I like colors, decorations and the meaning. The best phrase received about my sugar skull mugs it is happened twenty days ago; an american customer stationed in Italy told me: “I am half mexican and your mugs make me feel at home”. I am so glad to heard phrases like this one, because in this way, I know how a simple mug could be something more and it gives emotions to my customers.

The sugar skull meaning is quite intense. It has a lot of meaning in Mexican culture and is the main symbol representing Dia de los Muertos or Day of the Dead. Ancestors who have passed away are represented by clay molded sugar skulls which are painted and decorated, the names of the departed are added to the forehead of the skull and then the skull is placed on the grave stone to encourage the departed loved one to appear on the Day of the Dead.

So enjoy those pictures of my ceramics and other sugar skull stuff!

img_5400

ceramic teapot by Bottega Krua

img_5783

handmade mugs by Bottega Krua

If you want a special mug for you contact me bottegakrua@gmail.com

 

Leave a Reply

